h1

Down Through the Chimney with Good St. Nick

December 9, 2009

OK, this may have to be my favorite Christmas carol now.  The Down the Chimney Hunt was not only a good bit of fun, I can’t BELIEVE the amount of quality loot on offer.  What a happy holiday surprise!  Thanks to all the designers who generously participated… and also, thanks to the organizers for getting so many different stores involved.  I shop a lot in SL, but it never ceases to happen that every hunt shows me a dozen or more stores I just never knew existed– and which I will be going back to again and again, natch.  The gift that keeps on giving, eh?

In the meantime, I have finally unwrapped all the spanking new prezzies the hunt gave me and managed to pull together a few outfits to spotlight some of my favorite new pieces.  Heeeeere we go!

(outfits and slurls and hunt details after the jump…)

OK, the monkey hat.  Let’s talk about it.  It is not, actually, part of the hunt.  But happily, it IS sitting on a shelf right next to the landing point at Bryce, where there are other hunt items on offer.  When I saw this hat, though, I was powerless to resist.  I mean– sock monkey hat?  Does not get any better, my friends.

What is from the hunt in this outfit: the shoes are a great find from a store new to me, called PetuniaNarwhal is offering up this skirt, which is predictably gorgeous and hip and versatile.  And Nachtmusik, which I am sorry to say I had never gotten around to visiting before despite my love for Theodore Nacht, is offering up this absolutely GAWgeous ombre button-down top.  I think it is unisex, but even if it is a boy shirt, you see that it makes no difference– anyone can rock this lovely thing.

Outfit One
(hunt items in bold)
Skin: Rock Candy, Aki light skin with glossy lips
Hair: Maitreya, Sun in Ginger
Hat: Bryce, Sock Monkey Cap
Shirt: Nachtmusik, Ombre Linen Shirt
Skirt: Narwhal, High Waist Super Skirt
Socks: Shiny Things, Stripy Knit Socks
Shoes: Petunia, ballet flat in blue
Chair: Long Awkward Pose, My Chair Alone

I am not one to wear a whole outfit, as designed, without changing out some of the major pieces.  But this tank and jean combo from Acid and Mala is really great, and I found that I really wanted to keep the family together here.  Even the gloves gloves and belt are included, and work really well to create a great bad ass look.  Well, as bad ass as I can personally get, which is not very… but you get my drift.

The tattoo is a fantastic hunt gift from Demise, another store I had not found before the hunt took me there.  The detail is fabulous, and it comes in five different colors which is super cool in itself.  And, of course, the hat– another boy item I am appropriating for myself, but the skull cap and white hair made me smile and I just had to try it out.  It comes from the same store as the monkey hat– Bryce— and this is one of the hunt items, totally gratis.  Love!

Outfit Two
Skin: Dutch Touch, Mauve in Cotton
Hair and hat: Bryce Designs, Brewse in Whitewash Chalk
Tank, Jeans, Gloves, Belt: Acid and Mala, Reaction Outfit
Tattoo: Demise, Marchosias in light
Shoes: Akeyo, low-top Chucks

Now for something a bit more cozy… I am in love with this sweater from Fishy Strawberry, one of the hunt’s best items, I would venture to say.  It comes in this style, the skinny sweater, and also a bulky version which is uber-cozy.  I decided to use a scarf to bundle, though, and this one from Sweet Pea is endearing with a great pattern and fit.


OK, let’s talk about this Ozimals bunny ring.  It blinks!  And the ears move– I think.  It is so tiny, it is kind of hard for me to tell, but… I think I have a live bunny ring here.  And that is just awesome!  A truly unique winter accessory, don’t you think? Just as lovely and fluffy here are the earmuffs, which are artilleri‘s gorgeous and squee-worthy contribution to the hunt.  I just know these are going to find their way onto my head a LOT.

Outfit Three
Skin: Curio, Vixen in Petal
Hair: Slow Kitchen, onion updo in mocha
Earmuffs: artilleri, Fluff earmuffs in black
Scarf: Split Pea, Baby It’s Cold Outside scarf
Sweater: Fishy Strawberry, Norwegian Wood sweater in skinny
Jeans: Miasnow, ripped jeans in brownish
Ring: Ozimals, bunny ring
Shoes: Baiastice, Fabric and lace unkleboots in light yellow

And… that’s it so far!  The hunt is huge, and I have lots more to go through and enjoy, but if this doesn’t get you ho ho ho-ing off to pick up some holiday freebies down the chimney… well, I don’t know what would!  🙂  Have a great time, and you can start the hunt at any of the stores participating, or you can be trad and start at the start, here: Kunstkammer.

Merry merry, and enjoy the gifties!  See you soon…

Leave a Reply

