h1

Frutilicious Summer

August 19, 2009

in the fruit

Summer.  Watermelon.  Mmmm.

I hadn’t really thought of dressing like a watermelon, though, until I saw these fantastic shoes from Nushu.  The detail is cool, but more than that, the shape and style of them really sold me!  Kitchy?  Yeah.  Which is what makes them so great to pair with these hipster, edgy pieces that I have been dying to wear.  Yayyy!

shoes

So, the shoes are quite literal, but beyond that, the color palette they gave me to build on was totally fun and summery.  I scoured through my dresses to find one I bought a few weeks ago, and didn’t have a look for yet.  It is from the cute-as-pie suetabulous and her Beetle Bones store, and… yay!  It is color blocked, uber-hip, versatile, and really inspiring.  I love the neckline and the way the cream panels on the sides make it look vaguely corseted–  soooo adorable.

whole look

To bring out the great color of the dress and funk things up some more, I pulled on tights from the Twee outfit I got at the Designer’s United Event.  They are green sequined leggings, y’all.  Does it get any better??  They have such a unique texture, they take a fabulous basic dress like this one and just kick it up to total squee!

I also found that the neckline of the dress was perfect for my newest DeLa find, the new Kiera bow.  It is sooo cute, and when you are tired of scarves and necklaces, it provides yet another accessory option.  Or, if you are NOT tired of your scarves and necklaces, you can still use it– it comes as an arm bow as well.  Woot!

close up

To finish it off, I put on the gorgeous new-ish hair from Curio, Paper Tiger.  I love Curio reds, and the ease and coolness of the headband here is just lovely lovely lovely.  Add in the classic, flawless, made-for-redhead skin from LAQ, and I was a very happy girl indeed.

That’s all for now!  Time to beat the heat and go find myself some melon, no?  🙂

Details
Shoes: Nushru, Watermelon Platform Pumps
Dress: Beetle Bones, Bebop dress in red
Leggings: Twee, Jellyfish Jellyfish Jellyfish
Neck Bow: DeLa, Kiera Bow
Skin: LAQ, April in Milky
Hair: Curio, Paper Tiger in Natural Red
3 comments

  1. Wonderlicious post. The watermelon must be spiked but that’s the way I like it!


    • Hee! Sounds about right, the watermelon DID taste funny… Hey, is this another one of your home health cures? 😉


      • Hmm, the best of both worlds in one delicious package, lol.



Leave a Reply

